The Texas Child Abuse Viral Video Controversy.

I’m trying something a little different today. Normally I like to dig up some tasty piece of offbeat news for your reading pleasure, but today I would like to comment on a mainstream news item. It’s the child abuse case that has come out of Dallas, Texas where a 2004 video shows a sixteen-year-old girl, Hillary Adams, being whipped within an inch of her life with her father’s belt. The father, Aransas County, Texas, Court-At-Law Judge William Adams is being investigated over these charges.

If you haven’t seen the video, it’s very harrowing. The daughter has allegedly been caught downloading illegal MP3s, among other things, and her the father is infuriated. He commands his wife to go get his belt (“the big one”) then starts to lash her with it. As she screams in pain he keeps telling her to lay down face-first on the bed so he could “get a lick in”. Basically he wants to whip her across the bum. And when he gets done, her mother comes into the room and gets a “lick” in herself. What the heck, people?

It’s a totally disgusting video. And I for one am totally against the hitting of children in the first place. I’m originally from England but I now live in the United States. In England, there are some very strict laws in place against hitting children. And I believe that’s the way it should be. Children need protection from idiots like Mr. Adams. It was quite a shock to me when I first came to America and started hearing people talk about the practice of “whipping” their kids. It’s disgusting. Some parents find it acceptable to beat there children as punishment. There’s the method of having the child choose a “switch” from outside (basically a long, thin tree limb) with which the parent will then whip the child with. I’m totally against this. Another practice (as seen in the aforementioned video) is to whip children with a belt. Wow! Are you kidding me? Needless to say I found this all quite shocking when I first came over here.

Now let me get this straight, I’m not accusing all of America with this. I’m just commenting that I know these practices really do happen. It’s commonplace in some areas and I think it needs to be stopped. All you have to do is watch the video to see that. It was going on in 2004 and it’s still going on to this day. Get a grip people, it’s wrong!

When it comes to disciplining my six-year-old niece, I use the method of time-outs. She does something wrong, she gets a time-out (she has to sit there quietly for a few minutes). And it works a treat. She hates having her wings clipped. The secret is not to threaten punishment then not go through with it. All the time I hear parents telling their children “You’d better get over here before I count to three! 1…2…2 and a half…” This nonsense sends mixed signals to children. If you want to impose authority on them, the best thing to do is to stick to your guns. If you say something, you have to mean it.

There’s a science to raising kids the right way. And this Texas douche-bag is an absolute idiot. Give me five minutes with him and make sure you bring me his “big belt”.

Click here to view the video. Be forewarned though, it’s quite disturbing…

4 comments on “The Texas Child Abuse Viral Video Controversy.

  1. That ass-clown should be given a big dose of his own medicine. Nigel, don’t think it is acceptable or even legal in the US for children to be abused. We do have Children’s Protective Services and it is a requirement for doctors, nurses, teachers, fire and police personnel, and many others to report signs of abuse. Anyone that has witnessed or has knowledge of abuse is encouraged to report it. That doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. Just like so many other terrible things that happen, this should prompt all of us to be more diligent in stepping up and saying something rather than looking the other way.

    • It’s disgusting, innit?

      I live in an area where the practice of “whipping children” is an accepted (albeit it illegal) method of discipline and it quite frankly disgusts me. Even the churches preach the act of “spare the rod, spoil the child” very literally. At times it’s like living in a time warp and it makes me sick.

      I hope this guy gets what’s coming to him…

  2. Wow, I watched about 3 mins…or less. Disgusting. I have no idea how someone could have it in them to hurt a child in any way. As a general rule the Gaggle was not / does not get spanked. There have been bottom swats on occasion but never never in my life would I be able to take a belt to a child like that. My heart hurts when almost 5 yo hurts himself or just is having a life in unfair day. I can’t even think of being the one to take that smile off or hurt him or the rest. What is the MATTER with this man and any like him ug.
    Peace

Leave a Reply

